Arrows

When I look at my time as a worship leader, I have a great deal to reflect on in the way of how “smooth” my life has been since the calling. Now, by “calling” I don’t mean when I went to work for a church, I mean when God said “Hey dude,  you have something inside of you. I want to set you free and show you the joy of using that thing for Me.” That was much longer ago than my recent calling to a position with Cornerstone. Since that point I have seen the arrows of my enemy come from many, many directions. In some cases the arrows have pierced me, sometimes by my own bow. In some cases the arrows have bounced off like a bullet off of Superman. In some cases I have seen arrows diverted by the loyal considerations of my fellow worship team leaders and members, and I have seen them come from the place that, in my mind, was the most unlikely… from inside, but I won’t go there.

I guess my point is just this: the arrows WILL come. When you are part of a spiritual war… they are inevitable. Go to war… get shot at. It’s like a rule or somethin’.

Psalm 57: 4     I am in the midst of lions; I lie among ravenous beasts ~ men whose teeth are spears and arrows, whose tongues are sharp swords.

The best part? Same Psalm… one verse before: He sends from heaven and saves me.

In the midst of all the shouting, the chaos of battle, the war… He saves me. He is my shield. He is my quiet calm.    He is my all. And I am all His.

4 thoughts on “Arrows

  1. I don’t know why I’m still sometimes surprised when arrows fall. I don’t know where I get this sense of entitlement to a smooth life, is it from the American dream idea?

  2. I had to read this post again! It really spoke to me the first time I read it and I’ve gleaned more from the second reading. In particular for me are the arrows I so often shoot at myself, from within my own mind when the devil still tries to convince me that I am not worthy. Of course I’m not! You got it right on, man – He is my ALL and I am ALL His! Thanks bro!

Leave a Reply

