Looking Backwards

How do you see your life? How do you view your past? The things from our past that we re-visit time and time again hold us back from realizing that God has better intentions for us. God is hungry for a generation of people to stand up and move beyond their past, to move in the strength and power that He can provide. In the scripture referenced at the end of this post, we are moved to ask God to remove us from our paths that cause us pain. One of the biggest obstacles or “paths” that will keep a christian rooted in mediocrity is when we hold on to our past. If Christ died to set you free, let go of the past… and be free. One of my favorite lyrics is by Ricardo Sanchez from Free Chapel Church. During a time of worship he says “Don’t look on the old, rotting thing in your past that will only take you where you have already been”.

In Christ our life is complete. So pick up your gear, and don’t look backwards, but look forward to the best that God has for you. Ask God today to separate you from your ways of pain. Looking backwards included.

Want free tickets to The Sticks Conference? Answer this by comment or by twitter and I will hook you up! Tickets are limited and winners will be chosen at random.

Question… Where in the bible can the phrase  “cleanse me of my ways of pain” be found? (Hint : it’s a literal translation)

7 thoughts on “Looking Backwards

  1. Chris, I thought of a few places in the bible… 2 Corinth 7:9-11, Heb 12:11-13, and Romans 8:28. I for the life of me can’t find that quote, though!

    • Look at Psalm 139:24, “See if there is any offensive way in me” is literally translated as “way of pain” … thanks for the comment!

  2. The passage of scripture that came to me was Ps.51:2-“Wash me throughly from mine iniquity, and cleanse me from my sin”(KJV)in response to “see if there is any offensive ways in me”.”And see if there be any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting”.(KJV) Thanks for the insight.

  3. Greetings, this is a genuinely absorbing web blog and I have cherished studying many of the content and posts contained on the web site, keep up the outstanding work and desire to read a good deal more stimulating articles in the future.

Leave a Reply

