Regretting

Listened to a song by Jars of Clay, “Show You Love”, was struck by one particular line. Can’t get it out of my head….”I won’t regret to let Love do what Love will let…”. At first I thought it was just because of the odd arrangement of words, but after today, I think it’s because the Holy Spirit has put this line in my life, for me to sample, to meditate, to savor.Let’s talk for a second about the dangerous character of actions and words. By using words as weapons, by using words to tear down instead of build up, will we regret anything that Love has tried to do thru us? Even passive words that don’t build the Kingdom of Heaven are dangerous. If my God had wanted me to encourage a youthful, exuberant, guitarist, and yet, I had put him off by telling him that I had no time to speak just yet, (busyness) could I have possibly put myself in-between God and His will for said young guitarist dude?
Yes, possible… although anyone that knows me knows that I’ll talk music anytime, anyplace, this is just an example. But think of it… are we so “righteous, slain in the spirit, holy, BUSY”, that God cannot act in a way that would lead us to to rejoice in His actions, or will we regret… regret that we were too busy to uplift another, even with a smile, a hug, a kind word. Would we regret to let Love do what Love would let? Would the words that come from your mouth, from my mouth, be escaping (to hurt, damage) or be set free by Love to build up and justify?
Questions, questions… all good but all useless unless we come to grips with the answers, and that is done by putting the knowledge and wisdom God has given us to good use. Let us never be too BUSY, too involved, or too self righteous to use words that need no form, to unleash the actions that Love would perform thru us.

2nd Corinthians 7:10 Godly sorrow brings repentance that leads to salvation and leaves no regret, but worldly sorrow brings death. v11 See what this godly sorrow has produced in you: what earnestness, what eagerness to clear yourselves, what indignation, what alarm, what longing, what concern, what readiness to see justice done.

See to it.  Love will do what Love will let.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

