Sympathy Pains

When our wife had our first child, It was a long drawn out labor. Something on the hand of 22 hours. Many unnecessary trips to and from the hospital because of a nervous new dad (me) and a nervous new grandad (my father). My wife was far stronger than me in that birth. Even to the point of not wanting pain medications during the labor, to save the stress it would place on our as yet unborn daughter. At the end of it, I was a wreck. Nauseous, SPLITTING headach, emotionally drained. I’m not saying that I had it worse than my wife. I’m just saying my entire body, mind and soul were wrapped up in that day, and the things I felt were real.

Sympathy pains.

It’s like this when my friends are hurting. I have sympathy pains. When the people I love hurt, I hurt. I want to take whatever it is that is hurting them and utterly destroy it. It is a real tangible thing in my life. One thing I must keep in mind is that through pain and adversity, new things are birthed, and then the pain will be gone. I must say in all honesty that the pain still sucks.

John 13:34   A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another.

Keeping our eyes fixed on the new thing, and knowing that we have the true love of our friends, the true, honestly fely sympathy pains of those that love us, will help us in the storm.

I love my friends. I feel pain of my friends.

I’ll be glad when we both come out the other side.

2 thoughts on “Sympathy Pains

Leave a Reply

