Update on Naomi ~ Day 10

Baby “Nomi” is resting. Sleeping. But no longer in a coma. She has started to open her eyes, blinking, then sleeping again. She is a little fighter allright. Her cough reflex has come back strong. She seems to be coughing up a good deal of the junk in her lungs. She has tracked Wendy and me with her eyes… then loses focus some. She’s a tired little girl! The fever that has been coming and going is back, but as of right now, they say no secondary infections. The docs have told us that with brain injuries, the body sometimes gets a fever. We’ll get past that I’m sure. Gotta say I love the doctors and nurses here. As kind and compassionate as any I have ever seen, all the while encouraging our faith. They are going to take her off the ventilator tomorrow. She is now off of all meds except for an antibiotic, and her nutrition. They are running some tests to see if she may have C-dif. We trust the docs… they will find out what’s going on. We are doing therapy with her, trying to move her legs, arms so she won’t get too stiff. She is moving around a good bit, but not up and running yet. “Yet” being the operative word. We Believe, we thank all of you around the world that are standing with us. Literally, people all over the world. Liberia, China, Scotland, Australia, Germany, Spain… USA. Nomi has touched so many people already, and we know that her story of healing, grace, and mercy will only spread from here. Please continue in your prayers, covering her from every angle. We trust, and have faith that she will be back running up and down the beaches soon, blonde curls blowing in the wind. The love and support Wendy and I have received in the midst of this storm has helped us tremendously. We greatly appreciate it.

As a side note, I want to tell you something. I have really been trying to tune myself to God, and have noticed that EVERYWHERE I look, he speaks in some way. I cannot hear a song, even a contemporary rock song by Foo Fighters, without hearing God speak to me thru it. I just … idk, I just want to let you know that if you draw near to God, He will draw near to you. Whatever you are going thru, wherever you are… all the way from a family tragedy to the happiest day of your life… draw near to God. He’s there. He wants to be close. You just have to let Him in. Don’t try to go all religious… just be you, and let God be God. We try so many times to take over, and be god for Him. He doesn’t need us to be god. He needs us trust. Obey. Speak. LIVE. Enjoy this fragile thing we call life. This thing that can turn on a dime and throw our senses out the rear window.

Let Him be God, and you will stand amazed. Just like us.

28 thoughts on “Update on Naomi ~ Day 10

  1. still praying… I can’t wait to see pictures of Naomi at the beach this summer! Believe and trust friend…

  2. Love reading your updates bro. Continuing to pray and believe for Naomi. What an amazing, powerful testimony she is going to have!!

  3. Sounds like she’s doing wonderfully! Personally speaking, fever is the first sign that I myself have “over done” it and I am seven years post TBI. You say she’s trying to move a lot. It’s possible she’s just over exerting. I pray she continues to make a speedy and complete recovery. You have such a beautiful little girl!

  4. Just want you to know we prayed for Naomi at our church yesterday. We have been praying constantly. God is good, and He will do great things!

  5. Don’t you just love it when you are so in tune you see Him everywhere… even in a secular song. Ilove Carly Simon’s Haven’t Got Time for the Pain” because I always thing of Him when I hear that song. Thanks for sharing your intimate thoughts with us on here. Your righting is so eloquent and sincere! I love it!

  6. Love you guys. Very soon Naomi will be whole again and the miracle that God has done will resound in the lives of others worldwide! In fact, it already has. Rejoice in that…

  7. Chris, thank you for keeping us updated as this miracle unfolds. I am greatly blessed to be a part of the thousands of prayers for this precious child. We continue to stand firm on God’s promises that He hears and He answers prayers-in His way, His time, but always perfect! Can not wait to see that little blond burst of energy come flying thru the office doors! Bobby and I love you, will continue to petition Heaven and hammer hell till she is complete. Let us know if there is anything we can help with on this end. Love you all!!!

  8. I am from Orangeburg, but am in Abu Dhabi (middle east) teaching this year. I have read your blog. I am praying for her. I will share your story with the rest of the English staff at my school. She will be put on several prayer list by the English staff here. More prayers coming from this side of Earth! Stay Strong!

  9. I am have been praying. I needed to hear the last part of your post. Your love and faith is tremendous.

  10. Thank you for encouraging us in the midst of what you are going through. I pray that Jehovah-rophe will show himself strong.

  11. Chris and Wendy,
    Just want you to know that we and our Sunday School class are praying for you
    May God be with you and heal this little child of His.

  12. Oh Chris! I was in tears reading this! God is using this to touch so many people right now! God is so GOOD! Naomi is working for God right now, that’s got to be hard work! God will surely bless her and your whole family for letting Him use you!

  13. I have been praying for Naomi and your family. I am so glad to hear she is making progress…when she is ready for some PT please let me know. She was such a joy when I met her through the school system. I will continue to keep you all in my prayers. YOur faith is amazing and inspiring!
    hugs to you and yours,
    Melanie Lambert

  14. That is great news that Naomi is opening her eyes now, fighting the ventilator, and looking more like herself when she is sleeping. Praise God.

    I have been thinking about Wendy, and wondering how she is dealing with everything. How we can be praying for Wendy as well?

    P.S. I am the one who wrote that our daughter was admitted to PICU when she was 5 1/2 months old and put on a ventilator on Mother’s Day. I can relate to what you and Wendy are going through right now.

    As an aside, I don’t know if you are there yet, but I remember getting to the point where I could scan the monitors when I walked into our daughter’s room to get a quick read on her progress.

    • Wendy is good. Strong. You can pray for her strength, that she would sleep well. Be rested when she wakes… I can DEFINITELY scan the monitors. I can even tell when they change one of the stat bars to read a different reading. Pulse, heart rate, blood gas level, and temp is up now. Told the nurses I was learning, even though I didn’t want too!

  15. We at Cornerstone Christian Center located in Sandy Run are praying for Naomi. Thanking God for her healing!

  16. Wonderful update on her status! Keep looking at her monitor and pray for the day they turn it off so you can come home! Kind of daunting for a moment but a good silence! What’s the status of the c-diff culture? Did they trach her or just remove intubation tube? I have so many questions. Also, if the eeg electrodes are removed yet, in order to get the hair clean and glue out of it (ick!) don’t put water on her head first….rub the shampoo into the scalp good and then add water. It will help dissolve the glue. Water will only harden it and really make a mess! Just a bit of info from too many experiences!

    We continue to pray for Naomi and for both you and Wendy for strength, wisdom, and ability to recognize God’s hand in all this mess….He’s working it all for His glory and good.

    Nancy and Eric

  17. Praying for full recovery, rest, strength, wisdom and peace that only God can deliver.
    Sending one of my favorite verses your way:
    Isaiah 40:31
    those who hope in the LORD
    will renew their strength.
    They will soar on wings like eagles;
    they will run and not grow weary,
    they will walk and not be faint.

  18. We are praying that any day now you will be
    carrying your little girl home.
    God bless and keep you and your family comforted thru this.difficult time.
    Love glenn.Shayla and Mykala

Leave a Reply

