Update on Naomi ~ Day 12

 

Yesterday was a day that really tried me. Won’t lie to you. Just tryin to keep it real. Naomi came off the ventilator and did good for a while, then started to labor in her breathing. Wendy had gone to the Ronald McDonald house and taken a break. I was here alone with Nomi… I don’t think I have mentioned I have a thing about hospitals… they freak me out a little. The doctors started talking about possibly putting the Vent back in. Her throat and vocal cords are still swollen (not as bad as last night, thank you Jesus) and she was having some difficulty breathing… Really flipped me out. Called my Wendy and asked her to come up… quick. Meantime I’m praying like a wildman, laying (gentle) hands on my baby… just desperately crying to God and for all I am interceding for our baby, and then Wendy shows up. I must have looked pretty bad off cause she looked right at me and said ” No. I won’t accept that. No ventilator. She’s going to be fine” … The ENT shows up, scopes her out… and says… “No, I think she will be OK. Let’s not put her back on the vent”… Faith. Faith is when you STAND and plant your feet… when others around you are running from the trenches… FAITH.

We have been gobbling up scripture about faith. One that really applied to that moment in time is Mark 11: 22-24 And Jesus answered them, “Have faith in God. Truly, I say to you, whoever says to this mountain, ‘Be taken up and thrown into the sea,’ and does not doubt in his heart, but believes that what he says will come to pass, it will be done for him. Therefore I tell you, whatever you ask in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours.”

And Romans 4:17 in the presence of the God in whom he believed, who gives life to the dead and calls into existence the things that do not exist.

… Speaking LIFE, in FAITH. I’m glad that my Wendy had our back. Her faith In God is rock solid. The real deal. She’s the one that bought cute little flip flops for Nomi to walk out of here. God once again proved Himself faithful to the promise that brought us peace in the beginning of this thing. Nomi is not on the vent. She is wearing a scuba mask called a “by-pap” (sp) that is helping her to breath easier. She still breathes on her own without it, this just helps her tired little body along.

She improves with each minute. Each hour. Each day. Though the improvements may be tiny victories, they are victories bringing God’s miracle back from the dark, and into the light. I am learning that these victories are teaching too. Teaching us what real faith is, and what it can do… By the way… my hospital thing is not bothering me at all today. I have even thought that I no longer have a hospital thing….

19 thoughts on “Update on Naomi ~ Day 12

  1. Chris — It is great to hear about small steps in the right direction! I have started following you on Twitter and wanted to know that I pray for you often. (I am in the DC area and hadn’t heard about you until someone retweeted you.) I have three girls and know this must be extremely trying for you and your family and friends. Just know that many are on your side, but most importantly your Father is on your side. — James Gage

  2. 4 Little children, you are from God and have overcome them, for he who is in you is greater than he who is in the world. 5 They are from the world; therefore they speak from the world, and the world listens to them. 6 We are from God. Whoever knows God listens to us; whoever is not from God does not listen to us. By this we know the Spirit of truth and the spirit of error. 1John 4 4-6

    We are of God. He is always with us. Keep the faith brother. God bless you, Wendy and little Naomi. Prayers and praise going up.

  3. What a testimony of FAITH she has, Wendy has, and you have… Blessings to all of you, and the kids waiting your return home…..For good.

    God is good ALL the time… ALL the time, God is GOOD..

    Much love and prayers,

    Tiffany & Zman

  4. I have been praying since day 1, when I saw it on twitter. Thankful for all God is doing.

    I am on bi-pap (for me it is still cpap, I have an old machine) for sleep apnea.

    Stll pullIng with you brother.

  5. Wendy is so special and so are you Chris. We love ya’ll. Prayers going up for Naomi always.

  6. Chris, THANK GOD for the hospital! God used those gifted caregivers there to bring your baby back! To GOD BE THE GLORY!

  7. Chris….I have sooo looked forward to your posts every day. I KNOW that God is doing great things in all of your lives!! You have such a gift,Chris, and to LIVE what you sing, speak and write is quite AMAZING!!! Keep up the strong fight…Donald and I are covering all of you too, everyday!! I wanted to share with you a Word for this time…”My son, attend to my words; incline your ear unto my sayings. Let them not depart from your eyes; keep them in the midst of your heart. For they are LIFE unto those that find them, and HEALTH to all their flesh.” (Proverbs 4:20-22)

    Much love,
    Beverly Thomas

  8. We are so glad they did not have to intubate her again! You don’t know if she can handle off the vent unless you try…and try again…and sometimes again. Two steps forward and one step back is still forward motion, Chris! Praising Wendy’s strength and your faith. God is good. His mercy endures forever.

    Your friends in Christ, Nancy and Eric

  9. WOW! What a testimony of faith …..both believing and receiving. “To God Be The Glory!” May you continue to walk in the power of his resurrection.

  10. Faith in Action: Hebrews 11.1
    Now Faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.
    Stand Firm in your FAITH
    Your prayer warriors are standing with you.

  11. Gentle, soft and slow we go…always crosses the finish line. SO polish put the stroller will not be long before she will need a different view, read and sing to her they have amazing power in young children,God gives us a blessing again.

  12. So glad to hear of Naomi’s recovery! Thank-you for sharing your ups and downs and the practice of your faith! God bless you all!

  13. Still standing in faith with you and your family! My heart aches that you’re going through this, but I am glad to hear that Naomi is slowly-but-surely getting better each day.

  14. Pingback: Passing on a great blog…..

Leave a Reply

