Update on Naomi ~ Day 21

Naomi is in surgery to get a “g-tube” inserted into her tummy as I write this. This will get the one tube left out of her nose! I’m excited about seeing my baby girl with no tubes going down her throat and/or nose! Once this is done, the doctors will give her a while to heal up and make sure everything is good, then we will be going to an in-patient rehab hospital. I’m very excited about seeing her move her legs now. Last night she was getting a bath in bed from the nurses and was pulling her left leg up, presumably in frustration… they really had her ticked off! Her hair is washed and all of her curls are back in full glory! I walked in during her bath last night and Naomi looked right at Wendy , when I called her name she swiveled her pretty little head and looked right at me. I thought I had seen the beginning of a smile a couple days ago, and last night I know I saw it when she heard my voice. The nurse even saw it and asked… “did she just try to crack a smile?” Either Wendy or I have been in this hospital now 22/7 for three weeks. If not for kicking us out for shift change twice a day for an hour each time, it would be 24/7. We have seen what is happening in Naomi, and our little girl is coming back. Slowly, yes. Surely, yes.

I’m in awe at what God is doing. Proving. I had wondered before why a God powerful enough to hold the keys to life and death would ever want to prove Himself to us. Now I know… it’s to give sight to the blind and sound to the deaf. Strength to the weak and faith to the faithless. Some will continue to refuse the gift, that’s what freewill is all about. Some will look at Naomi’s fantastic and miraculous story and still refuse to believe. I can only wonder how that must make God feel. Some people see Naomi and see a miracle. Some people see only a coincidence. I see the hand of God. In some of my trips to get lunch, I have had the chance to share Naomi’s story with others, waitresses, etc… and some have asked “why would God let something like that happen?” It will never cease to amaze me that two people can look at the exact same identical thing, and yet still see two different things. Well, Wendy and I believe for our Naomi, and I guess in God’s eyes, that’s good enough.

Posted in Uncategorized

13 thoughts on “Update on Naomi ~ Day 21

  1. Chris, I am overwhelmed every time I read your posts. You and Wendy stand as such testimonies to God’s faithfulness-regardless of the situation you are going thru right now. I know God smiles each time you give Him praise for healing your baby girl. It is amazing how anyone could be a part of something like this and not understand. I believe for each person you talk to who doesn’t “get it”, you are planting a seed that the Holy Spirit will nurture and grow. Bobby and I love you dearly and will continue to pray in thankksgiving and praise to our God who is healing and restoring this precious child!

  2. A regenerate spirit will see it. Praise God and pray for all who come into contact with Naomi’s story – whether in contact with you or not – that they’ll see God in this. Bless Naomi, you, Wendy, family and friends around you.

  3. Praise God. He is great. Thank you for the update, it is so good to hear that her little curls are back and that you will get to see her beautiful little face without the tubes. God bless you all.

  4. We know that God can take any situation and use it for the good. How many people will see the healing power from this. What a blessing Naomi is, not only to you and your familly but to everyone. She is absolutely beautiful and we praise God for each report showing her improvement. You have experienced a real life miracle.

  5. Still praying for little Nomi and you guys… PRAISE God for each and every blink of her eyes, the twitch in her legs, and the crack of her smiles.. Those precious moments will last a lifetime in your memory.

    “I will lead the blind by ways they have not known, along unfamiliar paths I will guide them; I will turn the darkness into light before them and make the rough places smooth. These are the things I will do; I WILL NOT FORSAKE THEM.” ~Isaiah 42:16~

    PRAISE GOD FOR >>>>>>>>> PROGRESS!!

    Love and prayers,

    Tiff & Zman

  6. Baby steps forward. Naomi will recover quickly from the tube placement and know that temporary or permanent — it is a good thing. Find the right formula and it will become second nature for all three of you.

    The nutritionist at Children’s in 2005 told us about a product called Fruit-eze which we put into the g-tube in a blend of juice to keep bowels normal…..check it out. It does away with those awful meds and is all natural and does the trick wonderfully. We used it on Eric’s mom when she lived with us also. It’s from Oregon….fruit-eze.com.

    “The man or woman who is wholly or joyously surrendered to Christ
    cannot make a wrong choice…any choice will be the right one.” A. W. Tozer

    Continuous prayer for your and Wendy’s strength and Naomi’s comfort,

    Nancy and Eric

  7. This is Leontyne from the waiting room of Children’s Hospital yesterday. I just wanted you to know that when I entered the recovery room yesterday, I saw Naomi and felt His presence in the room. The feeling was just amazing! She is so beautiful and God is most definitely taking care of her. I will continue to keep you guys in my prayers.

  8. I am blessed to see the way in which you are giving God the glory for everything in this , Chris and Wendy. We know that God will use all of this to bring Glory to Himself, and this miracle that has happened, and continues to happen, will change lives. Praise God that He uses ” ALL things for GOOD for those who love the Lord and are called according according to HIS purpose.” I will continue to pray that Naomi will be healed completely, and that livess will be changed toward God in the process.

  9. That’s awesome brother…Glad to hear she’s still steadily improving…and ummmmm, I could be wrong, but I think there’s a few more than just you and your wife believing for her. 🙂 Can’t wait for that welcome home party.

Leave a Reply

