Update on Naomi ~ Day 28


Sorry about the four day lag in updates, been a little busy… Naomi is doing good. We just got back from a wagon ride. One of the nurses that had not seen her in a week made a comment about her getting her fine motor skills back, how her color looks so much better, her respiration sounds better… she pointed out several things, and I have seen nice improvements in the last 4 days. Yesterday we tried to see how she would react to standing up. We had to hold her up but she reacted well. Her feet are flexing nicely and we see some good flexibility in her legs and arms. She has been a little fussy with her feedings, but we are working that out. She’s a little fussy right now, trying to let me know I need to fix it. I’m trying… This morning I was told her Lovenox levels were at good therapy levels. That means we are heading to rehab! I find myself wanting quicker gratification in her getting better, and I have to keep telling myself that I am used to big ‘ole daddy steps… she is used to little tiny baby steps. Naomi has taught me a lot in the past month. Patience. Kindness. Forgiveness. Perserverance. FAITH. Love. Compassion. Tenacity, which is something I thought I had in great measure until I saw that character shown in Naomi.

Isaiah 11:6  The wolf shall dwell with the lamb, and the leopard shall lie down with the young goat, and the calf and the lion and the fattened calf together; and a little child shall lead them.

Wolf with the lamb? Lions and calfs? Improbable? And a child to teach and lead the way? As improbable as Naomi’s healing may have seemed, It happened. The speech therapists are here now, and say that her swallowing is excellent (she just started with oral stimulation this morning)… her healing has already taken place, and her body is just catching up. (Break) OK… the speech therapist just did a prelim swallow test and Naomi did well enough for them to try to feed her… our baby girl that was on full life support three weeks ago just finished eating applesauce!!! This is why we speak as though her healing is already complete, because that is what faith is… the ability to believe and see an outcome different from the one our eyes would try to convince us of. Three weeks ago… well, that was then. This is now. Tomorrow is not here yet. We have seen the hand of God on our little girl, and we continue to believe and stand in faith for her… and as we stand, we learn more about God’s character, and our very own as well.

Thank you God for this miracle wrought to teach us to be more like You, every day a couple more baby steps like You.


16 thoughts on “Update on Naomi ~ Day 28

  1. even though we have never met in person and only on twitter and this blog, I have a huge lump in my throat right after I read this. Our God is an awesome God!

  2. Our God is an awesome God…what a testimony of Faith your family is…others will see and hear and want to know your God…Praise God in the storms of Life…they are there for a reason

  3. Happy Father’s Day! I cant imagina anything more than what God is doing for your Little Naomi! She is truly a Miracle! Baby steps, it makes no difference, like you say look at how far she has come. It has been 4 weeks today! May God continue to Heal and Bless Naomi with everything she needs and give you and your wife and Family Faith, patience, Love and Happiness. In Jesus Name, AMEN

  4. Praise God! I just stumbled on your blog today and have been so encouraged! As a body, our church just finished going through the second round of chemo with our pastor’s daughter Daisy. God is faithful. All His work is done in faithfulness! My wife and I will be praying for Naomi and for your family.

  5. Just finished studying Isaiah and quoted this verse to a friend at lunch, got home and read your update. God is confirming the trust we are to put in His Word and I believe along with you in her complete healing.

  6. When I read this I was reminded of the words of a children’s song…

    My God is so GREAT, so STRONG, and so MIGHTY! There’s NOTHING my God cannot do! My God is so GREAT, so STRONG, and so MIGHTY! There’s NOTHING my God cannot do! The mountains are His. The rivers are His. The stars are His handiwork too. My God is so GREAT, so STRONG, and so MIGHTY! There’s NOTHING my God cannot do…FOR YOU!

    Happy Father’s Day, Chris. 🙂

  7. Tears of joy! And you used my “one word” for 2011, too. Perseverance. I am struggling with life right now, so just reading updates on Naomi have been strengthening for me. Because sometimes it’s hard to see the positives when you are overwhelmed in the midst of life’s curve balls. My philosophy is to find the positive & pray that it helps change the way just one person is affected. One by one we can change the world! With just the smallest amount of faith. Even when we don’t feel faithful. Your faith is trickling to others. Around the world! Watching the miracle Naomi is, should transform many!

  8. Praise God! Naomi is absolutely amazing! Thank you for the update Chris, but I can barely read the screen through the tears. Natalie saw her on the screen and yelled, “Daddy, it’s Naomi. Can I play with her daddy?” We are still praying for you all daily Chris and we look forward to these updates. May God continue to bless your family, especially little Naomi. What an amazing little girl.

  9. So glad for the progress report! Sorry we missed you Tuesday and when we returned after Becca’s surgery Wendy was fast asleep. We surely didn’t want to wake her as I know sleep is a very high commodity right now! We left a note card for you all with the nurse. We had to return to RMH Thursday with Becca and spent all day there but felt it was not the time to try and visit with you all again unannounced so we just sent happy thoughts up 4 floors (we were on 2 in radiology). We will have to return in a couple of weeks but we surely pray you all will be down the road by then!!

    Continuing to pray for you all,

    Nancy, Eric, and Becca

  10. So glad to see I’m not the only one crying. Like Rick in the first post, I’ve never met you guys in person, but I feel like we’re related……or at least close friends. I shouldn’t be so amazed at what GOD does, but it’s just so awesome the healing she has done so far.

Leave a Reply

