Secure Hearts

The heart of a man

Is not made for nine to five.

A soul is not made for boundaries,

Fences,

Borders,

Or coloring inside the lines.

I was not forged…

 

Forged…

 

In the blazing heart of creation

To live ruled by fear and trembling trepidation.

My pulse quickens

At the sights yet unseen,

The view beyond the hill

And across the water.

 

My true self is engineered,

Designed,

Planned meticulously,

For fearless, selfless freedom.

(True freedom is selfless,

Always selfless. 

Fear is the heart of selfishness.

We only build walls to guard the things we fear might be destroyed)

I’m crafted for leaping,

Running,

Bounding,

Sailing,

Soaring

And for helping others to do the same.

 

The original lie,

The very first one,

Is the tempting promise of unassailable security.

“you will be like God”

 

I can tell you how to find absolute security.

Dig a hole, sixty by sixty.

Build a box of concrete and steel

With walls ten feet thick, airtight and light-tight.

Climb inside and close the door and have the dirt piled high on top.

Wait until the air runs out.

Voila,

Security.

 

Here is my hope and desire,

For me and for you,

That should I find myself on the crest of a cliff,

And looking down, see the snarling faces

And bristling spears of enemies bent on my destruction,

That I

(and you in the same position)

Would leap without thought

And with a laugh,

Watching them try to scatter,

Too late

To escape me.

 

True security

Rests

In a heart that has broken the chains of fear

And been broken at the hands of the Smith

To be forged anew.

I know who guards my heart

And under that guard

It is unassailable.

  Todays post is by a friend and guest blogger, John Bates, whose work can be found here. 

I have enjoyed reading John’s writing, and I’m sure you will also. If you like, leave a comment and subscribe to his feed… you won’t be sorry you did.

Posted in Uncategorized

2 thoughts on “Secure Hearts

  1. Just a fan of John! I’m so lucky to count him among my friends:) I adore your writing. You inspire me daily to be a better person…

Leave a Reply

