Fear What?

unafraid

Fear: (noun)  An unpleasant emotion caused by the belief that someone or something is dangerous, likely to cause pain, or a threat; a mixed feeling of dread and reverence; a feeling of anxiety concerning the outcome of something or the safety and well-being of someone.

Maybe you are one of us that carries a fear in our pockets. Maybe you are about to lose your home. Maybe you heard the words “I want a divorce” recently. Maybe you got fired yesterday. Maybe one of your family members has cancer. Know what the bible says?

Isaiah 41:10 “Don’t panic. I’m with you. There’s no need to fear for I’m your God. I’ll give you strength. I’ll help you. I’ll hold you steady, keep a firm grip on you.

Now here’s where it gets a little sticky. This is a command by God. The form of this word in Greek is “Tira” and is a verb. Do not actively particpate in the process of being afraid. Carrying a fear of uncertainty, of abandonment, or the unknown is much different from operating in fear. When my daughter had her accident, we had fear, but we did NOT LET IT RULE. When God speaks a promise, you may very well have to fight for it. You may need to go to war. When God says “Do not fear”, He’s saying to you “I know that you are feeling this thing. You don’t have to dance with it. If you stand up, and focus on Me, I WILL carry you through it, and you WILL be stronger for it”… I remember watching a movie about Rome; in it a Legionaire, bloody from extended battle, stands victorious over a field of fallen enemies. Lesson: if you fight, you may get bloody, bruised and battered, but if you don’t fight, you die.

Even though we live in times of uncertain anxiety, even though we may carry a fear in our pocket, does not mean you must submit to it. I posted a photo of somthing that hangs in my coolbicle (yes, my space is a coolbicle, not a cubicle), because it reminds me every day of who God is, and why I don’t need to fear.

Hope it helps you.

2 thoughts on “Fear What?

Leave a Reply

