Asking Harder Questions

John 13:16 “I tell you the truth, slaves are not greater than their master.Nor is the messenger more important than the one that sends the message.”

49If Jesus calls us to do greater works than He did (I tell you the truth, anyone who believes in me will do the same works I have done, and even greater works, because I am going to be with the Father) how are we supposed to wrap our heads and hearts around the hard questions that lead us to spiritual tension within ourselves?

For us to be greater leaders, we must ask, how to be greater servants? For us to be greater servants we must be more compassionate.

How can I be more compassionate? We must need more intently.

Why would I want to need more intently? To share in the suffering that requires surrender… second by second, and that is done by realizing the world does not revolve around us; it isn’t me at the center of it all.

As with many things spiritual, the word of God travels upstream, against the flow of the world’s wisdom. A King came to wash feet, so that we could understand what servanthood is. A warrior came to be crucified, so we would not have to pay a price we could never afford. A teacher came asking the hard questions, so we could face ourselves, and learn to stand when all else falls, even our desire to hold on to what the hardest questions would wash away.

2 thoughts on “Asking Harder Questions

Leave a comment